Unable to load .sifz

General questions and answers about using Synfig. We encourage you to document your findings in the FAQ and Tips pages on the website.
Uskazd
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:26 pm

Unable to load .sifz

Postby Uskazd » Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:47 pm

Hello, I'm having a problem when loading some of my works.
This mostly happens after synfig crashes, but it doesn't seem to matter if the .sifz file was being used at that moment.

I did look around the forum,and the closest I come to an awnser is to open it with a HTML editor and change the line where Synfig says the error is located. But if it is that I have absolutly no idea what I'm supposed to write in it's place.

Here is the error message I get when loading 1 of my works:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bx_lVWmlqWZicEZnd3hrSDFVNG8/view?usp=sharing

And here is the .sifz file in notepad++:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bx_lVWmlqWZieF9MR0o5NXdScVk/view?usp=sharing

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

User avatar
Genete
Site Admin
Posts: 5155
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Location: Spain

Re: Unable to load .sifz

Postby Genete » Mon Sep 14, 2015 5:33 am

Your file is difficult to fix.
You have 8 skeleton layers with a total of 21 bones. Those bones affects to 208 elements...

To fix the file you should:
1) Create a simple file with a skeleton. Save it as sif and open it in Notepad++. Set its language as XML. Then notice that there is a section at start called <bones> where bones are defined. That section is missing in your file. You have to copy/paste that section <bones> ... </bones> in your file in the same place (before layers)
2) Then you have to identify how many bones are used in your file and where are they located. You can search for layer type="skeleton" to find the skeleton layers. Then you'll see something like the bone identification inside: <bone type="bone_object" guid="1D9089C51FBEFCC4B4329490EBA9A1C9"/> that GUID string is one unique identification number for the bone. You should create new bones entries at the top of the file in the <bones> section you pasted. Notice that the bone definition (i.e. hierarchy, geometry, position, etc.) is fully missing and you have to create it manually. Follow the structure of the bone you pasted on step 1)

Once you have completely recreated the <bones> section you'll be able to open the file normally.

I'm sorry but it looks that it is better to start over or rescue a previous backup of the file.
-G
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D

Uskazd
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:26 pm

Re: Unable to load .sifz

Postby Uskazd » Mon Sep 21, 2015 5:45 pm

Thank you for the fast reply.

I restarted the project trying to limit the amount of bones by using a very simple graphics style.
And that worked fine.

I will however try out the solution you gave if I find the time.

User avatar
lobozamora
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:59 am
Location: Costa Rica
Contact:

Re: Unable to load .sifz

Postby lobozamora » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:51 am

Hi good day.

Genete wrote:Your file is difficult to fix.
You have 8 skeleton layers with a total of 21 bones. Those bones affects to 208 elements...


I have the same problem, I can reproduced the same error 4 times, In my case its happening because you have some Bones with animation and when you copy the layers with the bones to other .SIFZ file all looks OK until you try to Re-Open the file.

Genete wrote:To fix the file you should:
1) Create a simple file with a skeleton. Save it as sif and open it in Notepad++. Set its language as XML. Then notice that there is a section at start called <bones> where bones are defined. That section is missing in your file. You have to copy/paste that section <bones> ... </bones> in your file in the same place (before layers)


I try hard but I cant, when I set the Language as XML on the NOTEPAD++ and open the file all looks like this:

‹  ìý[sI²® ßϯ ñ^)?ÄÑŒUc8ÎÍþjmëšïª­‘…Ý$@HU©~ýD‚¤DJ™  ðUw¯U‡2áéîïgÿ÷ß7×'_ÇóÅd6ýí” :=O/f—“éÕo§ÿÿÿwø!œþß¿ÿ_g£é×Ñ⧠ÿš\Þ}I%ýÍ—ñäêË]ú;
éïþž¿ÚH¶°ÌžãéÉ·_ÿÑ×Éø¯ŸfÿvúÁ´üs"…Øå_|ÿ'žþÑéÉhz7]OFé‹øôäómùÿ¥Xþ«Oã«ÉôÃÝäfüÛ)}.Ååãß…ôwŸ®.f׳yúW…}øÖ_ÿ‚oxúûÿurr6ÝŒÿÿý¯ÿý¡ó¿‰Ï>.ÿ¶üç7ã»ÑIùw¿~]ü÷j>»Ÿ^žžÌwçË{œž\̦wãé]y³ïñÓ_œ~\óe‹qú†ËW¾ÍÙÇ/ùé/ÖÛäŸñ³oaûô\¿ÿÕ¯¿šO^½¿¨•xòË_¬ø‚Å—Ù_Ï?¿ê²—¤'xú‹U›Žn7|ûýärüÊÏ0å˜ÍÉ÷¿àÕÏaù
?ý^yÝÆýŸ4-ç³ÏŸã»#ZuÿÙ4½mç‹ÿN¦ë¿÷ÇuçŸïïîçãìËoG‹»W~ÛÇß>ÏÓµ'?^¨ÑÅÝäkúë»ùýøôw>™L'“ÙÙǧK_û?ûÜçÑõ"}PÖB~ý„žÜŒ/7ÝIýœYÿ óËo²'7“»ÑåúÙ_oäÖÂýú Ÿó“ü¯Ÿ ë?~ùI½Ùídtr9>¹ðOþ4›Žå_=þõù|6»;¹ûv[úòïgŸþÏø"YGiÝé Ç~04ì»"NÁÊ¿ëõ¬ô


I lose like 5 hours of work with this, the only solution that I can find was; re-made all again from the scratch.
Attachments
XML.png
screen shot of notepad

User avatar
BobSynfig
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 6:08 am

Re: Unable to load .sifz

Postby BobSynfig » Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:04 pm

Hi,

your .sifz file is gzipped.
Rename it as .zip and extract it.
It contains another .sifz file that you will be able to rename as .xml
Do the modifications with Notepad++
When your modification will be done, rename it as .sif
Open it under Synfig
Save it as .sifz

;)
Always check Wiki/FAQ first! - Use last builds only: Stable 1.2.1 / Dev 1.3.4 (highly recommended)
Official Synfig Training Course - Buttons too big in Linux? - No icons with appimage ? - Google Translate may help


Return to “Synfig related help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests