Synfig Project Forum

Forums for Synfig Project
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:08 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New function -> Ghosting
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 8:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:09 am
Posts: 93
Location: Italia
Hi,

working on a mouth I've had an idea that could be usefull for designing an hidden object...
The ghosting function.

e.g.:
I need to change the thoots in a mouth and I need to see the lips and at same time work on thoots.

For do that I need to change the amount of lips eg to 0.3 and change the z order up down 'cause I need to view one up other alternatively.

There's a function that do this and that I don't know or ...

What you think about?

See the image for a best comprehension.

bye


Attachments:
Ghosting.png
Ghosting.png [ 36.87 KiB | Viewed 695 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 8:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Posts: 4679
Location: Spain
Yes, sometimes it is needed to work with stuff that is currently behind other stuff that you don't want to disable or hide. One alternative to that (decrease the amount of the layers) is to clone one of them to see it separatedly:
Say you can put all the teeth stuff inside a Paste Canvas, export the canvas parameter and you can create another working copy of the teeth with an offset from the mouth. You can delete the clone once the job is finished. Drawback: we don't know how to unexport a canvas :(
-G

_________________
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:09 am
Posts: 93
Location: Italia
mmm, I'm lost.

what you propose, if I correctly understood what you explained, is a faster method to manage a number of objects free from costrains of the around scene... that's right?
If so, I normally copy the Inline Canvas with it's objects and paste them in a new working file...

But, what I mean is like a partial transparency of lips up tooths and the possibility to work with the Inline Canvas of tooths that are visually "under" the lips but fully manageable.

I imagine like a semi-transparent ghost image of the lips up the tooths that has no effects on the objects under, it's only like a slide on my glasses...

PS.: I can't put no objects under a Paste Canvas :!: :?: , I don't know how it works... maybe...
Tooths remain at the same level of the PC :!:

E-


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 6:14 am
Posts: 312
Location: Hungary
I think what would be far more helpful in this case would be able to display layers as outlines, the way you can in Flash.

In Flash, you can either show a layer on the canvas normally, hide the layer, or show it as an outline - in which case it is just shown as a hairline (always 1px regardless of magnification). This helps you to line up things like arms which are underneath a body.

In Flash you can also specify a colour for each outline shown in outline mode. This helps to stop you becoming confused!

Outline mode has the additional benefit of speeding rendering time when you are working on a crowded canvas.

Outlines are never exported to renders or previews. They are just there to help work on the canvas. You can still manipulate ducks on a layer displayed as an outline.

However, unlike in Flash, it would be great to be able to set the outline colour of multiple layers at once.

Having an outline mode would allow Synfig Studio to mirror the traditional animators' work-flow, concentrating on the drawing and movement before moving to "trace and paint".

I realise this would take a lot of work to implement, so I'm not expecting to see it any time soon, but I thought I'd explain what I would like if I could have anything!

_________________
http://kecskebak.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:02 pm
Posts: 26
just brainstorming a bit on this:

it could be done with a "solo" mode as used in multitrack sound software:

In the layers, select some layers to "solo" (need an extra check-box per layer in the layer browser)

Soloed layers work as normal, but all other layers then become less opaque (global setting for how much) and NOT selectable.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 6:14 am
Posts: 312
Location: Hungary
The "solo" mode or "ghosting" mode doesn't sound very helpful to me - I think cases where transparency does help are already covered by the onion skin feature.

If you are animating a black bear with black arms and black legs loads of transparent black doesn't help you animate much. Outlines - of definable colours - would be far more useful to me. I would also expect outline layers to be selectable as normal.

When animating, the outlines are what are important - that's why they are got right first in traditional animation before the animators move to "trace and paint". You just want to see where the joints are, how the limbs are arcing and so on.

If you watch an ex-Disney/Bluth person like Dermot O'Connor work in Flash you'll see why outlines are so helpful.

_________________
http://kecskebak.blogspot.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:09 am
Posts: 93
Location: Italia
Thanx to all,

Very interesting the link, I must study it... :-)

I need to learn about onion skin...
...but now I'm working on a static image with no frames and I need to ghos a/many layers not frames
(os works with frames only, that's true?).
Can I do it with onion skins? And how?

E-


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Posts: 4679
Location: Spain
BottyE wrote:
Thanx to all,

Very interesting the link, I must study it... :-)

I need to learn about onion skin...
...but now I'm working on a static image with no frames and I need to ghos a/many layers not frames
(os works with frames only, that's true?).
Can I do it with onion skins? And how?

E-


Onion skin only work if there are two or more keyframes and the content in each keyframe has some difference.
-G

_________________
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group