Unable to import png?

General questions and answers about using Synfig. We encourage you to document your findings in the FAQ and Tips pages on the website.
h4 Gambiteer
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:27 pm

Unable to import png?

Postby h4 Gambiteer » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:21 pm

I saw a bug for an earlier version regarding this, but it looked resolved.

I can't import pngs, for some reason. I was using a development build, and I had several pngs. Randomly, they would disappear--they would be invisible. Even if I closed the file without saving, when I opened them up again, they would be gone. If I re-imported them they would be fine . . . until they randomly turned invisible and unalterable.

I downloaded the latest stable version of synfig to see if the problem was just with the development build, but this time when I try to import the pngs, I just get an error message that says "Unable to import file name"

When I try this on a blank canvas, it seems fine. But the blank canvas doesn't have the rest of the animation....Anyone know what the problem is? Is there some element I created in the animation that creates a png import bug?

Advertisement

User avatar
caryoscelus
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2015 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Unable to import png?

Postby caryoscelus » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:24 pm

If you want your problem to be solved, it's a good idea to upload problematic file and mention your platform.

h4 Gambiteer
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to import png?

Postby h4 Gambiteer » Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:25 pm

So it's not a common problem then?

Here is one of the problem files.
Attachments
exploding chess pieces.sifz
(3.11 KiB) Downloaded 1 time

User avatar
BobSynfig
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 6:08 am

Re: Unable to import png?

Postby BobSynfig » Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:23 pm

You use PNG files from other directories with spaces...

Code: Select all

<param name="filename">
  <string>../../../../\Brandon\Videos\animation experiments\chess bg removed\bN.png</string>
</param>

Avoid such practices, paths may be wrong as they are relative and spaces are evil.
Group the resources in the animation project.
See viewtopic.php?t=9906

P.S.: We don't have your PNGs ;)
Always check Wiki/FAQ first! - Use last builds (Stable 1.2.0/Dev 1.1.12), avoid 1.0.2!
Official Synfig Training Course - Buttons too big in Linux? - Google Translate may help

h4 Gambiteer
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Unable to import png?

Postby h4 Gambiteer » Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:17 pm

How do I send my PNGs? That's why I didn't bother attaching it the first time.

But also, I can no longer import any PNGs into that canvas. It's like the whole file is bugged out. Is anyone else able to import their own PNGs into the file?

Thanks for the link. As far as I can tell, I don't have any of those problems, unless it's a file name thing (but I can't import from file names without spaces, and I can import from file names with spaces, in other synfig canvases).

User avatar
BobSynfig
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2015 6:08 am

Re: Unable to import png?

Postby BobSynfig » Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:11 am

The solution in your case (already discussed several times in this forum):
- Extract your .sifz file (you can rename it as .zip under Windows)
- Open it in a text editor
- Find all the occurences of your PNGs path
- Modify them to be in the same directory as your project file
- Save it / Recompress if needed

Maybe they are files with transparency, check your alpha value for these layers
And don't mix versions of Synfig to cretae/open your projects

Btw you didn't tell us which OS you use
For Windows for example, use the correct slashes .\..\..
Always check Wiki/FAQ first! - Use last builds (Stable 1.2.0/Dev 1.1.12), avoid 1.0.2!
Official Synfig Training Course - Buttons too big in Linux? - Google Translate may help


Return to “Synfig related help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests