Synfig Project Forum

Forums for Synfig Project
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:23 am

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 4:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Posts: 4790
Location: Spain
EDIT 2:
More changes to come!
Lately I'm feeling lucky coding and seems that I'm having a good coding phase so I decided to not stop my self and apply the modifications to the master branch.
Those modifications are:
  • More render artefacts fixed: due to the changes made by the speed up improvement, some old render artefacts get back to life.
  • Added icons to the enum widget. Default interpolation drop down menu has icons for easy identification
  • Fix crash when DIList is empty (erased all items) and Dash is enabled.
  • Now it is possible to insert item smart on empty lists. Just right click on the list (BLine, WPList, DIList) and one menu action is offered.
  • Metadata is now editable by the user at the Meta Data dock dialogue.
  • Fix added bug for missing contextual menus for widthpoints position duck.
Please be patience: Release candidate #3 next week!

EDIT: A second Release Candidate has been released!
It brings:
  • Hability to remove multiple items at the same time
  • Fix bug (crash) that happen on advanced outlines when number of blinepoints is one.
  • Right click on a WidthPoint position duck offers the "Edit Waypoint" menu when applicable.
  • 'Fast' parameter of advanced outlines is static (not animatable) by default.

DONWLOAD HERE

Hi!
I'm just uploading the 32 and 64 bit binaries for linux of the Release Candidate #1 of 0.63.03.
Detailed changelog of this release:
Synfig Studio:
  • Use Widget::Distance for feather spin button on Draw Tool options.
  • Enable tool tips for Tool Options dialogue buttons.
  • Make Draw Tool options greyed when not usable.
  • Full support to create Advanced Outlines with the Draw Tool. Stylus pressure used.
  • Widthpoint position ducks shows a text with its value when mouse hovers.
  • Don't stretch button in file selection widget. Use shorter text. Patch by Konstantin Dmitriev
  • Fix bug https://pivotaltracker.com/story/show/18136743: BLine linked objects get wrong initial position
  • Use Gtk::Tooltip instead of deprecated Gtk::Tooltips. This fully fix tooltips for Layer parameter panel.
  • When modify a value that has a waypoint at the current time, don't modify its interpolations, only the value.
Synfig Core:
  • Support to create Advanced Outlines with the Draw Tool.
  • Fixed script to generate synfig API.
  • Added two new parameters to the WidthPoint class. Lower Boundary and Upper Boundary. They define the lower and upper boundaries value of the widhtpoint position. When placed at start and end of the BLine. By default lower = 0.0 and upper = 1.0. Lower boundary must be always smaller than Upper boundary. As parameters they cannot be exported, converted or animated.
  • Render improvements for Advanced Outlines:
    • With 'Fast' parameter disabled: 55% of reduction render time
    • WIth 'Fast' parameter enabled: 10% of reduction render time
  • For Importer layer, even if file is physically impossible to open, set the parameter with the passed file name. This would allow to load and
    save Synfig's documents with paths for imported files badly adjusted but that user doesn't want to modify.
  • Fix for compatibility with libpng 1.5. Patch #3427945 by SpeckFleck.
  • Fix bug in Time Loop Layer. Patch ID: 3414729 by Ray Frederikson

Please test the Tablet support specially since I only can test it on my wacom Graphire. If there is any remaining bug, please let me know and I'll try to fix for this release.

Also, please update your translations at Transifex. I've added some translatable strings with the introduction of the new parameters on the width points. Translations will be admitted until November 26th.

Thanks and enjoy!
-G

_________________
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:33 am
Posts: 912
Location: Foshan City, China
Quote:
Added two new parameters to the WidthPoint class. Lower Boundary and Upper Boundary. They define the lower and upper boundaries value of the widhtpoint position. When placed at start and end of the BLine. By default lower = 0.0 and upper = 1.0. Lower boundary must be always smaller than Upper boundary. As parameters they cannot be exported, converted or animated.

But where can I define the Lower and Upper Boundaries?

Quote:
Render improvements for Advanced Outlines:
  • With 'Fast' parameter disabled: 55% of reduction render time
  • WIth 'Fast' parameter enabled: 10% of reduction render time

Since "Fast" parameter is just for render, shall we move it from Param Panel, and make a "render option" in CLI and Render Dialog. I don't think it should be an animate-able parameter either.

Quote:
Full support to create Advanced Outlines with the Draw Tool. Stylus pressure used.

Attached is my version of Splash for The Amazing Advanced Outline Layer Release! Congrats !
Attachment:
splash_screen-0.63.03-advanced-outline.png
splash_screen-0.63.03-advanced-outline.png [ 94.69 KiB | Viewed 2815 times ]


Attachments:
advanced-outline.sifz [4.9 KiB]
Downloaded 48 times

_________________
time flies...
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 4:20 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Posts: 4790
Location: Spain
Quote:
But where can I define the Lower and Upper Boundaries?

I forgot to mention that they are sub-parameters of the Composite WidthPoint, so you can find it expanding the WidthPoint item in the WPList.
Quote:
Since "Fast" parameter is just for render, shall we move it from Param Panel, and make a "render option" in CLI and Render Dialog. I don't think it should be an animate-able parameter either.

I don't think so. 'Fast' not only render faster but with render artifacts, so user might want to apply it only for certain Advanced Outlines and not for all of them. Other thing is to make it static by default, so user can modify it but not animate. I will do that last thing.
Quote:
Attached is my version of Splash for The Amazing Advanced Outline Layer Release! Congrats !
Good suggestion! Although I like the idea, I don't want to betray the other potential splash designers. :( Since it was decided to use same splash for the 0.63 series, it can't be modified. I'm sorry. ^__^
-G

_________________
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 4:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:33 am
Posts: 912
Location: Foshan City, China
Genete wrote:
Good suggestion! Although I like the idea, I don't want to betray the other potential splash designers. :( Since it was decided to use same splash for the 0.63 series, it can't be modified. I'm sorry. ^__^
-G


Don't worry about it, it is just a quick idea, and I should be make it clear in the previous post, I didn't intend to make it as a Official Splash either. :) it is just a gift for the Advanced Outline Layer :mrgreen:

_________________
time flies...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Posts: 4790
Location: Spain
Wait! A second release candidate is being cooked!
-G

_________________
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:23 pm
Posts: 988
Location: West Coast USA
Have a Windows binary -
http://sourceforge.net/projects/synfig/ ... e/download

Let me know if there are any issues, but it looked like a clean compile.

Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 6:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:23 pm
Posts: 988
Location: West Coast USA
Dang - I can't keep up with Genete.
Let us know when RC2 is baked.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 4:07 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Posts: 4790
Location: Spain
pixelgeek wrote:
Dang - I can't keep up with Genete.
Let us know when RC2 is baked.

I'm sorry mate :oops:, I just wanted to incorporate the latest feature addition and one more bux fix. Check first post.
It is ready now on master branch. Beware that it has two new files added to build.
-G

_________________
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 4:36 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:16 am
Posts: 932
Location: Russia
Genete wrote:
Quote:
Attached is my version of Splash for The Amazing Advanced Outline Layer Release! Congrats !
Good suggestion! Although I like the idea, I don't want to betray the other potential splash designers. :( Since it was decided to use same splash for the 0.63 series, it can't be modified. I'm sorry. ^__^
-G

I like this change to splash screen too! Maybe we can afford to have such tiny change to keep users entertained? It reflects the idea of 0.63.x branch! ^__^

And yes, Genete, the changes are awesome! Double thanks for "multiple vertices delete" and "keep waypoint interpolation" features! \o/

_________________
Morevna project:
Recently completed tasks: Demo released
Top priority tasks: Synfig Development, Website reorganization


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:42 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Posts: 4790
Location: Spain
Quote:
Maybe we can afford to have such tiny change to keep users entertained?
It is ok, I agree if nobody else complains ^__^
-G

_________________
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 4:02 pm
Posts: 26
i'm trying RC2, but seems like all the changes are mostly technical, i haven't managed to crash the program, but that might be because i'm making basic projects, nevertheless, feels pretty solid


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:09 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 2:16 am
Posts: 932
Location: Russia
Am I dumb or I can't find "Set side before/after" option in context menu of widthpoint anymore? http://www.synfig.org/cms/files/5413/06 ... e-menu.png

_________________
Morevna project:
Recently completed tasks: Demo released
Top priority tasks: Synfig Development, Website reorganization


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:20 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Posts: 4790
Location: Spain
My fault!
I added code to make possible to have "Edit Waypoint" contextual when right click on a WidthPoint using the position's value desc (like done in BLinePoints) but it conflicts with the contextual menus added ad-doc for WidthPoint value descs.
I'll remove that commit and try to find an alternative solution.
I'm sorry for the introduced bug and thanks for point it out!
http://synfig.git.sourceforge.net/git/g ... aa1e25f590
-G

_________________
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:36 pm
Posts: 739
Location: Sweden.
Genete wrote:
...
[*] When modify a value that has a waypoint at the current time, don't modify its interpolations, only the value.[/list]
...

My interpolation still changes when I edit a waypoint.

_________________
www.rylanderanimation.se
Synfig scripts, etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:26 am
Posts: 4790
Location: Spain
Quote:
My interpolation still changes when I edit a waypoint.

Try to modify the value using the duck or the parameter editor in the param panel, not directly editing the waypoint by right clicking on it.
Also, the waypoint editor dialog shouldn't change the interpolation method if not specified. It might be another bug.
Are you using RC2?
-G

_________________
Synfig needs your help!
Developers, packagers, bug testers, translators, artists, web developers, wiki writers... you can contribute! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group